April is Poetry Month, after all…

So difficult to choose a favorite!

 

 

YESTERDAY

I had some extra-special treats to share with coworkers at lunch yesterday; I brought goodies from the Palermo Bakery and Monday night’s Sweet Sioree event at 4Sixty6, in West Orange, into work.  (As much as I love desserts, there was no way I could sample all of these delicious treats myself!)  We loved everything, but I think the red velvet with cream cheese frosting was my favorite.

Monday night, the club known as “NJ’s Vegas” was packed with brides and wedding industry professionals as they mingled about and sampled a seemingly endless supply of cakes and pastries from the Ridgefield Park bakery.

Though the event on Monday was catered toward brides (no pun intended, really!) Palermo’s is available to make their custom cakes for any occasion, even sporting events!  You can visit their website and blog for pictures and ideas. Palermo’s services the greater New York and New Jersey area, and they’ve most recently made special cakes for members of the Jersey Shore cast.

I don't know how any bride could not feel just like a princess with this gorgeous cake!

 

 

TODAY

I’m heading over to the Zimmerli Art Museum in New Brunswick for a timely event called Poetry & Comedy Night.  April is Poetry Month, after all, so why not celebrate it and have a few laughs at the same time?

The evening will include a meet and great with authors, poetry readings, a curator-lead tour of the museum, stand-up comedy showcase, complimentary refreshments, and a 20% discount off of purchases made at the museum store.  Tickets for non-Rutgers employees and students are $6, Rutgers employees and students are free.

This event is one of many in the museum’s Art After Hours series.  For more information, you can visit their website.

TOMORROW

Looks pretty quiet tomorrow.  I’m planning on a quiet evening of take-out food and will hopefully catch up on some movie watching.  Maybe I’ll finally get to see some of the Academy Award wining/nominated films from this year.  That would be great!

Cakes and more cakes from Palermo's.

Any recommendations?
~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

Leave a comment