Computer Programming and Ice Cream

As a teacher and a life-long learner, I’m always taking on a new challenge, a new class, a new skill. I’m not enrolling back into graduate school, or taking Spanish classes again (though I probably need to estudiar espanol a bit more diligently). No, this time, my new endeavor is the language of computer programming, something called PHP to be specific.

Honestly, I don’t know what I’m getting into (and hopefully computer programmers out there are not laughing at me TOO loudly)…I just know that I REALLY want to learn this.  Amazing things have been happening over at my Notes on the State of New Jersey site, and I’d really like to know HOW they were happening. So, rather than ask a million questions and bug the brilliant mind of John Conde, who is the man behind the curtain and responsible for it all, I am going to try to learn to speak to him in his language.

Let’s call this Day 1.  Of how many, I don’t know.  All I do know, is that I am getting started today.  The plan for today consists of dedicating an hour to “investigative internetting” as I search for tutorials and sources and any advice I can get.  I am ready to take notes and soak it all in.  For sustenance, I’ve got a container of Edy’s Slow Churned Chocolate Chip ice cream and a giant spoon.  Here we go…

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

One thought on “Computer Programming and Ice Cream

  1. Melissa:

    Slow Churned Chocolate Chip Ice Cream? I’d want that at my side — big spoon as well — as I tackle any project.

    Good luck with the learning.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

