Picture Perfect: A Sense of Vacation

The other day, several of my students were (needlessly) gathered around my desk.  I pointed this out, and asked them to please vacate the area and return to their own desks.  They (proceeded to do what they do whenever I use a word they don’t know, and) stopped in their tracks, stared at me, and waited for the explanation.  A teachable moment emerged, and so we discussed what it means to “vacate” and how the word is similar to the word “vacation.”

On vacation in Colonial Park

That conversation from earlier in the week has had me thinking a lot about vacations.  To me, a vacation doesn’t necessarily mean that I have to go very far or even physically leave, but that I get to have a break from my routine, a temporary escape.  With summer on its way, especially, I am ready for a vacation!

I took this Picture Perfect photo in Colonial Park in Franklin Township, NJ when I truly felt a sense of vacation.  I was outside, on a warm and breezy day, in a comfy place to sit, and had a good book – with most of the pages still ahead of me…

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

2 thoughts on “Picture Perfect: A Sense of Vacation

  1. I know that gazebo and the surrounding garden well. My mom and stepdad got married there in 2007 on an unseasonably warm late-October day, and I’ve spent many an afternoon just sitting in that gazebo, watching the butterflies and smelling the scent of the flowers on the air. Besides the bocce courts, it’s my favorite part of Colonial Park.

Leave a Reply

