A Weekend of Good Food and Good Friends

Trying to figure when these postcards were issued...

I got to spend some time walking around (as it snowed) in Somerville on Saturday evening.  There, I visited one of the largest antique malls in the state,  Somerville Center Antiques.  The folks there were friendly and extremely helpful.  I wandered around booth after booth of collectibles, and eventually found an old (though I haven’t figured out exactly how old) 1 cent Thomas Jefferson postcard.  And officially started my collection of Thomas Jefferson memorabilia!

Tapastre in Somerville, NJ

After antiquing, and just a few blocks away, I had dinner at Tapastre.  The menu, cleverly organized by countries including France, Italy, Turkey, and Greece, offered a large selection of tapas-style dishes.  I thought the Seared Scallops, with a bacon pesto and blue cheese cracker, were especially delicious.

Sunday brought a great work session (and pizza!) with good friend and web developer, John Conde in Jackson.  We made some updates to the Notes on the State of New Jersey website and more additions are on the way shortly.  We’re almost ready to start posting the articles.  It’s very exciting!

Then, I got to catch up with old friends at Taste in Red Bank where, again, I had a variety of small plates – though this time with a much more American feel.  The Buffalo Deviled Eggs seemed like a pretty unusual idea to me, but they tasted great!

Now, its back to work and back to checking the weather forecast.  We’re under a storm watch again, and it looks like this next storm could be messy.

Be safe and have a great week!

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

One thought on “A Weekend of Good Food and Good Friends

  1. Thanks Melissa! I had forgotten I heard about this place, but we’ve never been. Sounds like the perfect day out for snow weary Saturday!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

