Waking up in a Winter Wonderland

The winterized version of the small stream in back of my house.

It snowed again.

We got about another 17 inches of snow in central New Jersey, from the storm that came overnight.  Now, we’re pushing record-setting numbers for snowfall in the month of January.  As much as I would like to see the crocuses come up and hear the birds chirping again, I have to admit that all of this snow is kind of fun.

In fact, yesterday’s storm was complete with thunder, lightning, and freezing rain, as well as lots and lots of snow.  With my fireplace ablaze, I got to catch up on reading some of the fascinating books about New Jersey that have come my way recently.  I’ve certainly added to my list of upcoming destinations (weather permitting, of course).

Loving the lines that the trees and snow formed this morning.

While shoveling out this morning might have been an unplanned workout, the relaxing snow day that followed was a very nice treat.  (And brought with it plenty of great photo opportunities.)

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

4 thoughts on “Waking up in a Winter Wonderland

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Waking up in a Winter Wonderland « The Jersey Girl -- Topsy.com

  2. Melissa,
    You really caught the beauty of the new fallen snow in your pictures! I know that I have to take the time to appreciate the beauty because the shoveling and driving in it is not pretty.

  3. Melissa,
    been enjoying your work. As a new resident of New Jersey, from Florida, all of this snow fills me with the excitement of a child. As a student of history, there are so many Revolutionary War memorials, parks, and places I drive by all of the time here in NJ that I hope to see soon. J. M.

Leave a Reply

