Picture Perfect: The Sun Also Rises

It’s Sunday and so it’s time for another “Picture Perfect” moment.  Though we’ve featured only sunsets so far, the title of Ernest Hemingway’s early novel – full of possibilities and new beginnings, The Sun Also Rises, has inspired the theme for this week’s post.  (It just so happens that the first line in Hemingway’s novel also references none other than New Jersey’s own Princeton University!)

As one of the fifteen east coast states, New Jersey offers some amazing locations to view a sunrise. Despite that, many people I know are still fast asleep when the sun comes up in the morning, and those who are already awake are too busy working or on their way to work to appreciate the time of day properly.  Regretfully, I can’t say that I’ve had very many opportunities to be awake as the sun comes up with nothing else to do but enjoy it.

"Pole, Bucket, Boats" (by Tim Biel)

Earlier this summer however, photographer, Tim Biel, did just that and greeted the sun as it rose over Long Branch, NJ.  I think he captured the peacefulness and serenity of the promising early morning, but I’ll let you decide for yourself…

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

5 thoughts on “Picture Perfect: The Sun Also Rises

    • Robert,
      That’s a fun way of viewing the photo.

      I’ll tell ya…I may just have to take up fishing if it means getting to enjoy moments like this one!

      Thanks for your comment!
      ~Melissa

  1. A sunrise is much more rare for me than a sunset, but it too contains magic. A sunset allows me to pause and be thankful, but it is the sunrise that fills me with optimism of the day ahead…

    Plus, most of my sunrises, I usually find myself with a fishing pole as well. Great image and capture of the moment…

    stay adventurous,
    Craig

  2. Hi Melissa:

    Knockout shot.

    When we were in Atlantic City a year ago, we were able to see the sunrise from our room at the Trop. It was a gorgeous site that my daughter has captured on her cell phone.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

