Some (Don’t) Like it Hot ~ Support your local library!

Lately in New Jersey, it’s been hot.  Or humid.  Or hot and humid.

I can tell it’s hot because I typically resist turning on my air conditioner for as long as I possibly can, and it’s definitely been cranking this week.  Temperatures have been up around 110 degrees.  Humidity up around 90%.   To intensify matters, we haven’t gotten any rain in a while and the weather forecast is only predicting a few scattered thunderstorms this Saturday and a couple into next week.  Not too much relief there!

Many people choose to stay indoors to escape the heat, but that doesn’t mean you have to stay home to do so!

I’m pretty sure that wherever you live in New Jersey, your local library has air conditioning.  And you know what?  They have lots of other things there too. Like books.  Crazy, I know!  Books, magazines, computers, and other people with whom you can have conversations.

The East Brunswick, NJ library now even has a cafe!

But, as with all good things, be careful if you think this is something you can take for granted.  Here in New Jersey, budget cuts are threatening to dramatically impact our libraries.  So, get out there, New Jerseyans, and visit your local library soon.

If you like what you see and want to make sure it stays around for a while (even if for no other reason than as a reprieve from scorching summer heat and humidity), ask the librarian about what you can do to help support our New Jersey libraries.

Happy Reading!

~Melissa
The Jersey Girl

4 thoughts on “Some (Don’t) Like it Hot ~ Support your local library!

  1. That brings back memories! Growing up in SE Georgia, our house was an old farmhouse with no AC (nope, not even a window unit!). Every Friday morning during the summer, we would go to our town’s library, which was deliciously air conditioned. My siblings and I would spend a couple of cool hours there, lost in books. When our mom came to pick us up, we’d head back home with an armload of books to lose ourselves in back inside our hot home!

    • Ginny,
      Me too! I remember spending a lot of time in the library over the summer…I always entered the reading competitions and tried to win prizes based on how many books I could read.

      ~Melissa

  2. Melissa —

    I agree. I LOVE heading to the Bloomfield or Montclair State library and finding books that are never open, or haven’t been open for ages.

    BTW, what is the name of the cafe in EB? I want to get them in my column for the winter.

    Thanks,

    Steve

Leave a Reply

