Milltown Historical Society

“You must always know the past, for there is no real Was, there is only Is.” -William Faulkner

Please don’t tell any of my old teachers, but history used to simply bore me to tears.  Though I made a legitimate effort to study and do the work required of me, I never really enjoyed the subject; the wars, laws, and government we studied seemed so far away and so long ago – they were of very little interest to me.

Over the years however, this relationship between history and me has changed.  Now, I can’t get enough of it.  Maybe traveling has helped me to realize how interconnected we all are, maybe researching my own family genealogy has sparked the interest, or maybe I’ve just “grown up a little” and can now appreciate the impact we, as individuals and as societies, have on history.  I am honestly not sure what the reason is, but I’m hooked.

Milltown Historical Society Museum on South Main Street

In my quest for all-things-history, I’ve joined the historical society from my hometown, Milltown, NJ.  The Milltown Historical Society was founded on May 9, 1968.  Through the years, the society has acquired two old houses for use as museum and meeting spaces.  Items donated from local residents, as well as people with Milltown roots living as far away as France, have filled the buildings and museum displays.

Today, the Milltown Historical Society is as busy as ever restoring their historic buildings, archiving museum artifacts, updating displays, and raising funds for these endeavors.  Present-day technology makes it possible for the Milltown Historical Society’s busy members to share and receive new information via an interactive website, http://milltownhs.ning.com.  On this site, people interested in Milltown history can find out about upcoming events, view archived photographs, and leave messages for one another.

Always happy to have new members with an interest in Milltown history, the Historical Society meets on the third Tuesday of the month in the Annex Building behind the Museum located at 116 South Main Street. For more information about visiting the museum, becoming a member, or making a donation, contact Society President Kathy Heilman at 732-227-1480 or Bruce Schwendeman at 732-828-0249.

~Melissa 🙂
The Jersey Girl

One thought on “Milltown Historical Society

  1. Pingback: Milltown Historical Society ~ June 19, 2010 Open House « The Jersey Girl

Leave a Reply

